Being Thrown into the “Adult World”

Greetings.

I’ve been thinking about it a lot for the past few weeks and I didn’t really know how to describe how I’ve been feeling in words. I’ve been nervous, excited, and anxious.

Let me explain my current situation. I am 19 years old. Not completely fresh out of high school, but it’s still only my first year of college so I feel like there is still so much more for me to learn about the world and well myself. I was hit with reality of this “adult world” when I got a job. I’m finally working towards my career. Sure, I’m pretty much just the *beep* of the office, but I’m now surrounded with opportunities and people who do actual research in the (semi) medical field. It’s exciting but scary… which I still don’t know how to explain, but yeah. Also, with two jobs now, I’m so busy and I can barely go home or hang out with friends that often. On top of that, my cousin and close friend John and Kevin are going to be roommates next year and we have been apartment searching for the past week and it’s so crazy. I’m 19 and I’m going to REALLY be living on my own now. Without anyone to really be there to tell me what to do.

Maybe all of this just seems crazy to me because in less than one year, I went from living with my parents everyday to barely ever seeing them and having to live by myself and REALLY take care of myself. I mean I have done it before, but it was less extreme so now it just feels so sudden.

So yeah, that’s how I’ve been feeling lately… as though I’m being thrown into this adult world AKA reality. But I think that it’s good for me because I’m learning so much about myself through these experiences and that’s what’s important in the end. Learning from my experiences.

Leave a Reply

