My health

Hi all, today I am going to be speaking about something that is a bit “tmi,” but it is something I need to address for myself. I need to allow myself to digest what is actually happening with my body right now and allowing myself to just think.

So for the past week, I haven’t been able to really post much because I was busy being in horrific, tear-worthy pain. It all started on Satruday, January 1st. I felt a bruising of some sort near where my butt “crest” meets my tailbone. I assumed it was just a bruise, but the next day I was in a lot of pain. I noticed a small bump near my tailbone and I thought, “uh oh.” I continued to go about my business though. Finally, by Monday this small bump was now quite big and it was causing me SO much pain. I was crying and I couldn’t walk, sit or move at all. All I could do was lay down on my side for the whole day. It got to the point where I knew I had to call the doctor. 

Before I called the doctor, I looked up my symptoms and I found that I might have had pilonidal disease / cyst / abscess / dimple. I got a bit scared and of course after the doctor poked around, I was diagnosed with a pilonidal abscess. This meant that under my skin there was a shit ton of pus and body fluids that caused a lot of pressure on the surrounding tissue causing me a shit load of pain. I was put on antibiotics to hopefully treat it. As a curious person, I asked my doctor why I got what I got. He told me that when people are born, some are born with little tiny dimples (not really dimples, just little holes in your skin, bigger than a pore) on their tailbone area. Over time, dirt and sweat and what not gets in there and you don’t know this because you don’t know it even exists! So he believes that it got infected and that’s how this abscess was created. A cyst is when it pops. (I’ll get to that.) So here I am with a giant pain thingee on my ass.

If you want more info about this stuff I’m sure you can look it up online. A lot of the stuff though is sometimes false such as the stigma that only hairy men get this. No, I am not hairy, nor am I a man.

It has been a week and it was such a bad week that consisted of a lot of crying and sleeping and barely any eating. But I feel a lot better now (thank goodness!) I mainly got better because it popped meaning it became a cyst. It was oozing out soooooooo much pus. I don’t know how to explain it to you. From a bump that was penny sized, there was so much pus because it was under my skin around the bump too which caused me pain. But my mom drained it out of me and now I can finally walk. Sometimes it gets sore, but I can walk now.

How do I treat this? Well my meds have been working and it’s treating it, but it may not cure it. Pilodinal cysts can reoccur over and over again and last for a lifetime, and it may not. Most likely it seems from my research on the internet that it will reoccur. A way that I can “cure” this is to get surgery. This terrifies me because if you look at photos you will know why. I hate the thought of surgery and how it could go wrong. I am such a baby when it comes to pain and I’m just so scared. Also, I’m scared because a lot of people also said that sometimes the surgery doesn’t work. So I’m scared to spend all this money, time and pain on something for it to not even work you know? So dilemmas. But I guess we’ll see by the time I finish all my meds.

So yeah, that’s my update on my health so far.

I worked out today with my roommate and her friend. It was soooo fun, but I’m exhausted. I’m going to try to make smarter health choices because this really scared me. I need to strengthen my immune system and just make sure to not put my health in anymore danger.

Maybe I’ll update you on my health more often and what steps I am taking to prevent sickness and what not.

 

Leave a Reply

